Two new groundbreaking articles on French guitarists

Consortium member Kenneth Sparr has just published ‘Barthélemy Trille Labarre, ‘Professeur de Guitare et Compositeur, Éléve d’Haydn’, Biography and Catalogue of Works’, in The Lute, lvi (2016), with an immense fund of new information. We are also delighted to announce a lavishly-documented article on the guitarist Vidal, by Consortium member Damián Martín Gil, entitled “‘The Famous Vidal’: New Light on the Life and Works of a Guitarist in Eighteenth-Century France”, just been published in Eighteenth Century Music, 18/1 (2021), 123-149.

New publications 2020

The latest issue of Soundboard Scholar (nr 6, 2020), the only peer-reviewed journal of guitar studies, published by the Guitar Foundation of America, includes two articles by members of the Consortium and an excellent  review of the recent book on the guitar in Finland by one of our newly elected members, Jukka Savijoki. The articles are by Erik Stenstadvold, “Sor’s Guitar Music—a Fresh Start”, presenting the background to his new edition of Sor’s works for guitar, and Damián Martín Gil, “Unraveling the Discussion entre les Carulistes et les Molinistes (Paris, 1828)”.  The review of Jukka’s book So that the Soul Would Dance in You is by Kenneth Sparr. The issue can be ordered here. Articles can be ordered here.

With the publication of The Guitar in Georgian England: A Social and Musical History (Yale University Press, 2020)  Christopher Page has completed the trilogy of books on the guitar in England he began in 2010.

More information can be found here.

The 2020 Andrew Britton Fellow

The 2020 Andrew Britton Fellowship winner is Damián Martín Gil. Damián (b. 1978) earned a Diploma in Classical Guitar (2002), BA in Physical Education (2002) and MA in Classical Guitar Performance (2008). He won the first prize at the “Young Performers of Extremadura” competition in 2001 and has obtained grants from institutions such as Junta de Extremadura, Caja Badajoz, Fundación Antonio Gala and The Research Council of Norway.

Since 2010 he has been teaching guitar at the Conservatory ‘Hermanos Berzosa’ in Cáceres (Spain). He is presently also completing a master’s degree in historical musicology at La Rioja University (Spain) with a thesis analyzing the guitar technique in Paris in the times of La Guitaromanie.

His articles have been published in leading guitar journals such as Il Fronimo (Italy) and Soundboard Scholar (USA). He has also presented papers at various international conferences including the Lake Konstanz Guitar Research Meeting, the Norwegian Guitar Conference in Oslo and the ‘Norba Caesarina’ Guitar Festival (Spain).

This year’s competition drew excellent candidates from many countries, including Guatemala, America, and Israel. each submitting a wide range of research proposals. Damián will give a paper at the next Consortium meeting in April 2020.

New discoveries on Dionisio Aguado

Consortium member Luis Briso de Montiano published an article on the part of Dionisio Aguado’s personal library that has survived in the in the legacy of guitarist Rosario Huidobro. The article was published in ‘Roseta’, the journal of the Sociedad Española de la guitarra, in Spanish; see here. A pdf of the article can be found here.

2020 Andrew Britton Fellowship

The Consortium for Guitar Research, an affiliate of the Royal Musical Association of Great Britain, now invites applications from guitar researchers, at an early stage of their work, for a Fellowship in memory of Dr. Andrew Britton. The Fellowship comes with funding for board and lodging, and thanks to the intervention of a generous benefactor, Mr Jeff Wells, now includes a contribution to travel costs up to £350. The three-day colloquium of the Consortium, to which the successful candidate will be invited, will run from Saturday 4 April to Monday 6 April 2020 and be based in Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. This award provides an opportunity to share ideas with a group of acknowledged experts in the field. See for more information regarding the Consortium and its members.

The recipient is expected to give a 30 minute paper at the Consortium conference and subsequently to prepare a succinct report on their work for placing on the Consortium website.

Applicants are invited to submit their CV, and a 400 word (maximum) statement describing their latest research and why this award would be useful to them. Please send applications via email, in a Word or PDF document, to Dr James Westbrook by Sunday 1 December 2019. The chosen candidate will be notified by Friday 20 December 2019 and will be asked to accept the place by Friday 10 January 2020 and to give, in their message of acceptance, an estimate of travel costs. It is the responsibility of the candidate to ensure any necessary visas are in place. See also The Cohort.

Dr Andrew Britton was a Founding Member of the Consortium. His PhD thesis The guitar in the romantic period: its musical and social development, with special reference to Bristol and Bath is a benchmark to all new Scholars and is available online on the British Library Ethos site.